Sunday, December 23, 2012

No Safe Harbor - a Bethany House review

I have read some great books lately, and Elizabeth Ludwig's No Safe Harbor is one of them! This is one of those books that I love--it drew me in from the first page, left me with questions I wanted answered, and by the time I got to the last page, my questions were answered! This novel is very well written, the dialog matches the characters, and the scenes unfold naturally. It has a soft ending, making way for the second story in the Edge of Freedom series which is due for release sometime in 2013.

Set in the late 1890s in New York City, No Safe Harbor tells the story of Cara Hamilton, who has sailed from Ireland in hopes of finding her brother Eoghan whom she fears is dead. She finds her way to a female boardinghouse with the help of a countryman. Knowing that she should not reveal her brother's name because of the danger that it could put her and him in, Cara is guarded. But when a fellow Irishman named Rourke offers to help her, her wall gradually comes down. When she finds out who Rourke is and the whereabouts of her brother, Cara is forced to decide between Rourke and her own twin brother.

No Safe Harbor is filled with suspense, intrigue, romance, and edge-of-your-seat anticipation! If you like historical fiction, this one won't disappoint!!

About the Author 
Elizabeth Ludwig is an award-winning author whose work has been featured on Novel Journey, the Christian Authors Network, and The Christian Pulse. Her first novel, Where the Truth Lies, which she co-authored with Janelle Mowery, earned her the 2008 IWA Writer of the Year honors. This book was followed in 2009 by “I’ll Be Home for Christmas,” part of a Christmas anthology collection called Christmas Homecoming, also from Barbour Publishing.

In 2010, her first full-length historical novel Love Finds You in Calico, California earned Four Stars from the Romantic Times. Books two and three of Elizabeth’s mystery series, Died in the Wool (Barbour Publishing) and Inn Plain Sight (Spyglass Lane), respectively, released in 2011.

Coming in 2012 is Elizabeth’s newest historical series from Bethany House Publishers. No Safe Harbor, the first book in the Edge of Freedom Series, will release in October, with two more books following in 2013 and 2014.

Elizabeth is an accomplished speaker and teacher, and often attends conferences and seminars, where she lectures on editing for fiction writers, crafting effective novel proposals, and conducting successful editor/agent interviews. Her popular literary blog, The Borrowed Book, enjoyed a wide readership in its first full year, with more than 17,000 visitors in 2011. Along with her husband and two children, Elizabeth makes her home in the great state of Texas.

I received No Safe Harbor as a complimentary gift in exchange for review from Bethany House Publishers. My comments and opinions are my own.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.